I never go anywhere without my mini bags of almonds…

So when my seven-year-old daughter stretched out every syllable as she moaned, “I’m hungry,” I handed her an almond packet. We were at Angel Stadium and could have bought peanuts had we not already spent our funds on a large Diet Coke for me and a giant waffle cone filled with chocolate ice cream for her.

Instead of her usual “Ew,” she begrudgingly opened the packet and cautiously peeled one of the almonds before perching it at her lips and taking the tiniest of bites. Eventually, she stopped peeling them as she made her way through most of the packet.

If only I could be tough enough to starve her into nutrition more often…

Trader Joes sells Just a Handful of Raw Almonds or Just a Handful of Roasted Almonds which contain13 packets of 1.25 ounces (35g) of almonds each. At $4.99 that works out to 30.7 cents a packet.

Nutrition at a Glance for Each Bag

Calories 200 (Carb 8g, Fat 17g incl 1.5g Sat Fat, Protein 7g)
Fiber 4g
Sugars 1g
Calcium 10%, Iron 8%, Sodium 0mg

Use Almonds to Create Quickie Mini Meals

Break or cut them up or add them whole to

• Plain Yogurt or Cottage Cheese sweetened with cut up fruit and Stevia
• Plain Yogurt or Cottage Cheese seasoned with cut up vegetables and minced garlic and crushed red pepper
• Oatmeal sweetened with cut up fruit and Stevia
• Salad

Other Uses for Almonds

• Snack
• Offering to hungry coworkers trapped into last-minute noon meetings

1 Comment

Filed under Nutrition and Health

One response to “I never go anywhere without my mini bags of almonds…

  1. Pingback: I never go anywhere without my bag of mini almonds… | Making Time

Leave a Reply

